
Gauntlet Gallery — Mr Brainwash Print & Edition Index
No Posts, No Bills (24 x 36 Paper)
Work Summary & Collector Notes
A 2021 silkscreen on archival paper at 24 x 36 inches, editioned at 70 with 7 APs. The title riffs on the ubiquitous 'Post No Bills' signage of urban walls, flipping street-poster culture into gallery-ready pop and grounding the work in Mr Brainwash's origins amid graffiti and flyposting.
Collector notes: Edition of 70 plus a separately stated artist's-proof edition of 7. Edition-specific signature, numbering, thumbprint, and certificate details were not stated in the saved release record.
Why It Matters
The subject matter directly references the street-poster world Mr Brainwash came from, making this one of his more overtly street-art-rooted editions. At 70 impressions it is among the tighter paper runs in this group, and the horizontal-leaning 24 x 36 format gives it a poster-like scale appropriate to its wall-culture theme.
Collector Perspective
Collectors drawn to the graffiti-and-flyposting lineage of the artist's story favor this piece for its thematic authenticity. The comparatively small edition of 70 supports its collectibility. A canvas version at 20 x 32 also exists, so buyers should confirm which substrate they are acquiring and inspect the paper edition's margins and surface.
Historical Context
'Post No Bills' notices are a fixture of city walls that street artists have long defied and appropriated. By turning that phrase into an edition, Mr Brainwash nods to the flyposting culture from which his own aesthetic grew, connecting the gallery print back to the sanctioned-versus-unsanctioned tension at the heart of street art.
Documented Release Details
- Object type
- Editioned screenprint
- Release date
- 2021-02-04
- Release-date note
- Catalog-listed release date from the saved secondary record; primary release-page confirmation remains pending.
- Series
- Other Editioned Works
- Medium and materials
- Screen Print; catalog dimensions 24 x 36 inches; archival paper.
- Edition details
- Edition of 70 plus a separately stated artist's-proof edition of 7.
- Signature and marks
- Edition-specific signature, numbering, thumbprint, and certificate details were not stated in the saved release record.
Documented History and Meaning
History note: The studio dates Mr Brainwash's first Life Is Beautiful solo exhibition to 18 June 2008; this page treats that as career context, not proof that the present edition appeared in that exhibition.
Meaning / interpretation: The studio describes the practice as combining street-art energy, pop-culture imagery and positive messaging. Subject-specific intent or endorsement is not assumed unless a release or collaboration source states it. This interpretive note follows the cited artist or publisher context.
Release context: The saved catalog lists 2021-02-04 and attributes the edition to Mr Brainwash (Self Released).
Authentication, Presentation and Provenance
- Original presentation
- Original packaging or presentation was not documented in the release sources reviewed.
- Authentication note
- No certificate is stated in the saved release description. For an individual copy, compare the support, dimensions, edition number, signature, thumbprint and any studio or gallery paperwork. The studio says it cannot guarantee works bought from external vendors.
- Provenance note
- Edition origin is attributed in the legacy record to Mr Brainwash (Self Released). That does not establish the ownership history of an individual copy: retain the original invoice, reseller or gallery paperwork, labels, correspondence and condition photographs.
Related Artists and Exhibitions
- Life Is Beautiful — first solo exhibition — CBS Columbia Square, Hollywood · 18 June 2008 · Artist-career context; the source does not establish that this later edition was exhibited
Videos
- Official video archive — ARTE and Los Angeles Times features — Mr Brainwash studio · Artist process and exhibition context; not release-specific
Sources and Verification
Verification status: Secondary catalog snapshot; official studio policy and career context added
- Saved release record — Art Collectorz · secondary catalog snapshot · Accessed 2026-07-12 · Starting record for title, date, edition, dimensions, medium, release price and release description. Public access was unavailable during this audit, so primary confirmation remains pending.
- Studio FAQ — certificates and web orders — Mr Brainwash studio · primary artist policy · Accessed 2026-07-12 · The studio says it issues COAs only for works after January 2021 and will not backdate earlier works.
- Collector authentication disclaimer — Mr Brainwash studio · primary artist policy · Accessed 2026-07-12 · The studio does not guarantee externally purchased works and directs collectors to the relevant reseller or gallery.
- About Mr Brainwash — Mr Brainwash studio · primary artist source · Accessed 2026-07-12 · Studio biography and artist-level context; it is not an individual-edition record.
- Life Is Beautiful — first solo exhibition — Mr Brainwash studio · primary artist archive · Accessed 2026-07-12 · Studio history of the 18 June 2008 debut exhibition, which included prints among several media.
Known conflicts or unresolved points:
- Legacy Edition field pointed to a canvas size; the saved description identifies the 24 × 36 inch paper edition.
FAQ
What is the documented edition structure?
Edition of 70 plus a separately stated artist's-proof edition of 7.
Which signature or authentication features are documented?
Edition-specific signature, numbering, thumbprint, and certificate details were not stated in the saved release record. No certificate is stated in the saved release description. For an individual copy, compare the support, dimensions, edition number, signature, thumbprint and any studio or gallery paperwork. The studio says it cannot guarantee works bought from external vendors.
Is original packaging documented?
Original packaging or presentation was not documented in the release sources reviewed.
How certain are the release details?
The date, edition, dimensions, medium and original-release description come from a saved secondary catalog record. Official studio sources on this page support artist-level context and current authentication policy, but not every release-level field.





