
Gauntlet Gallery — Mr Brainwash Print & Edition Index
Art Is Not A Crime (Hard Candy) (Red)
Work Summary & Collector Notes
Art Is Not A Crime (Hard Candy) is a 2021 sculpture edition by Mr Brainwash: a set of five chrome-painted resin pieces in the red variant, issued in an edition of 95 with 10 artist proofs. Each measures roughly 6.5 x 7.25 x 2 inches. Pieces were offered individually or as a complete five-piece set, translating the artist's slogan into a collectible three-dimensional object.
Collector notes: Edition of 95 plus 10 artist's proofs. Edition-specific signature, numbering, thumbprint, and certificate details were not stated in the saved release record.
Why It Matters
As a chrome-finished resin sculpture, Hard Candy marks a departure from Mr Brainwash's paper editions into three-dimensional collectibles. The 'Art Is Not A Crime' slogan directly invokes street art's contested legal status, and the set-of-five structure creates both single-object and complete-set collecting paths.
Collector Perspective
The edition of 95 plus 10 AP applies to the sculpture format, with a clear pricing tier for single pieces, AP singles, and the complete five-piece set. The chrome-painted resin finish is display-forward but shows handling and scratches easily, so condition and careful storage are important. Complete sets carry a premium over individual sculptures.
Historical Context
'Art Is Not A Crime' engages directly with the legal ambiguity that has long surrounded graffiti and street art, a theme central to the movement Mr Brainwash emerged from. Rendering the slogan as a chrome sculpture in 2021 extends his practice into object-making while retaining his message-driven, street-rooted identity.
Documented Release Details
- Object type
- Editioned sculpture / object
- Release date
- 2021-09-06
- Release-date note
- Catalog-listed release date from the saved secondary record; primary release-page confirmation remains pending.
- Series
- Sculptures & Objects
- Medium and materials
- Sculpture; catalog dimensions 6.5 x 7.25 x 2 inches; chrome-painted resin.
- Edition details
- Edition of 95 plus 10 artist's proofs.
- Signature and marks
- Edition-specific signature, numbering, thumbprint, and certificate details were not stated in the saved release record.
Documented History and Meaning
History note: The studio dates Mr Brainwash's first Life Is Beautiful solo exhibition to 18 June 2008; this page treats that as career context, not proof that the present edition appeared in that exhibition.
Meaning / interpretation: The studio describes the practice as combining street-art energy, pop-culture imagery and positive messaging. Subject-specific intent or endorsement is not assumed unless a release or collaboration source states it. This interpretive note follows the cited artist or publisher context.
Release context: The saved catalog lists 2021-09-06 and attributes the edition to Mr Brainwash (Self Released).
Authentication, Presentation and Provenance
- Original presentation
- Original packaging or presentation was not documented in the release sources reviewed.
- Authentication note
- No certificate is stated in the saved release description. For an individual copy, compare the support, dimensions, edition number, signature, thumbprint and any studio or gallery paperwork. The studio says it cannot guarantee works bought from external vendors.
- Provenance note
- Edition origin is attributed in the legacy record to Mr Brainwash (Self Released). That does not establish the ownership history of an individual copy: retain the original invoice, reseller or gallery paperwork, labels, correspondence and condition photographs.
Related Artists and Exhibitions
- Life Is Beautiful — first solo exhibition — CBS Columbia Square, Hollywood · 18 June 2008 · Artist-career context; the source does not establish that this later edition was exhibited
Videos
- Official video archive — ARTE and Los Angeles Times features — Mr Brainwash studio · Artist process and exhibition context; not release-specific
Sources and Verification
Verification status: Secondary catalog snapshot; official studio policy and career context added
- Saved release record — Art Collectorz · secondary catalog snapshot · Accessed 2026-07-12 · Starting record for title, date, edition, dimensions, medium, release price and release description. Public access was unavailable during this audit, so primary confirmation remains pending.
- Studio FAQ — certificates and web orders — Mr Brainwash studio · primary artist policy · Accessed 2026-07-12 · The studio says it issues COAs only for works after January 2021 and will not backdate earlier works.
- Collector authentication disclaimer — Mr Brainwash studio · primary artist policy · Accessed 2026-07-12 · The studio does not guarantee externally purchased works and directs collectors to the relevant reseller or gallery.
- About Mr Brainwash — Mr Brainwash studio · primary artist source · Accessed 2026-07-12 · Studio biography and artist-level context; it is not an individual-edition record.
- Life Is Beautiful — first solo exhibition — Mr Brainwash studio · primary artist archive · Accessed 2026-07-12 · Studio history of the 18 June 2008 debut exhibition, which included prints among several media.
FAQ
What is the documented edition structure?
Edition of 95 plus 10 artist's proofs.
Which signature or authentication features are documented?
Edition-specific signature, numbering, thumbprint, and certificate details were not stated in the saved release record. No certificate is stated in the saved release description. For an individual copy, compare the support, dimensions, edition number, signature, thumbprint and any studio or gallery paperwork. The studio says it cannot guarantee works bought from external vendors.
Is original packaging documented?
Original packaging or presentation was not documented in the release sources reviewed.
How certain are the release details?
The date, edition, dimensions, medium and original-release description come from a saved secondary catalog record. Official studio sources on this page support artist-level context and current authentication policy, but not every release-level field.





